Quotes From Week 14 Editions of NFL Network’s ‘NFL GameDay First’ & ‘NFL GameDay Morning’

Quick Quotes from NFL GameDay First & NFL GameDay Morning

“I’m still under contract. I haven’t even made it through this year. I’m chasing after another one of these [Super Bowl rings].” – Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch on if this is his final year playing in the NFL

“How many guys on the Seahawks defense are going around saying ‘I am the best’ and trying to get attention? [Marshawn Lynch] is saying ‘I don’t want that attention – I want the attention to be on the team.’ The Seahawks need that.” – Shaun O’Hara on Seattle Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch

“I’m not worried about the workload for DeMarco Murray because I think that’s exactly what you have to give him in order to keep Tony Romo healthy.” – Michael Irvin on Dallas Cowboys running back DeMarco Murray

“He was the most consistent player on this team…He got you here, you’re still in the playoff mix. To me, this was a no-brainer.” – Kurt Warner on the Cleveland Browns’ decision to start quarterback Brian Hoyer

“This guy is finally getting them to a point where they’re respectable. Let the guy play.” – Steve Mariucci on Cleveland Browns quarterback Brian Hoyer

“I think that Brian Hoyer gives you the best opportunity to beat the Indianapolis Colts. You don’t want to put Johnny Manziel out there and tell him he has to try to keep up with Andrew Luck.” – Shaun O’Hara on the Cleveland Browns quarterback situation

“I’m told by Bears sources that there is a serious case of buyer’s remorse for Jay Cutler and signing him to that huge contract that is guaranteed through next year.” – Ian Rapoport on Chicago Bears quarterback Jay Cutler

“You have to beat them one of two ways: you have to beat them with deep balls or you have to beat them by being more physical than them. Neither of these come from this Philadelphia Eagles football team.” – Michael Irvin on the Seattle Seahawks defense

“If he wins the NFC West, he’s going to be the Coach of the Year again.” – Steve Mariucci on Arizona Cardinals head coach Bruce Arians

“Right now, he is the best back in the league.” – Marshall Faulk on Pittsburgh Steelers running back Le’Veon Bell

***For complete quotes from ‘NFL GameDay First’ & ‘NFL GameDay Morning,’ see below***

Seattle Seahawks Running Back Marshawn Lynch with Michael Robinson

NFL Network analyst Michael Robinson sat down with his former teammate, Seattle Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch, for an interview on NFL GameDay First and NFL GameDay Morning:

On his relationship with the media:

“I guess they just want to talk to your boy [me]. But I don’t have anything to say. I just want to play football.”

On what a strong run game does for a team:

“A strong run game manages the game, the overall game. It keeps your defense off the field, it keeps your defense fresh. If you can run the ball, it takes the pressure off a quarterback. It gives life to the game.”

On what makes him a special player:

“I don’t know. I just like to play football. Anytime I have an opportunity to touch the ball, I feel like I can be successful.”

On other running backs he watches in the NFL:

“I take a lot of stuff from a lot of running backs. [Adrian Peterson]. Ray Rice. Chris Johnson; I really like to see him run. [LeSean McCoy]; I love seeing Shady run, he does some amazing things. Arian Foster. One that’s growing on me now is DeMarco Murray.”

On if this is his final year playing in the NFL:

“I’m still under contract. I haven’t even made it through this year. I’m chasing after another one of these [Super Bowl rings].”

On his connection to the fans:

“When people come up to me and they say, ‘What’s up,’ they get a real, genuine ‘What’s happening?’ Or when I’m at my camp, I’m actually at my camp. I actually get down with the kids in my camp. It’s not like I’m going to sit here and talk to the media because I know when [fans] see me in public they’re going to love me and then I can just give them a wave and then it’s going to be, ‘He waved to me.’ No. All of that is superficial to me.”

On what would he say to 20 year-old Marshawn Lynch:

“Probably first off telling him don’t regret none of the decisions that you make because they’re going to make you into who you’re going to grow in to. I mean from the bad to the good, to the pretty and the ugly. So 28 year-old Marshawn telling 20 year-old Marshawn get ready for a whirlwind because it’s not going to be pretty.”

To view the entire interview with Lynch, visit:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000439544/Beastmode-opens-up

Arizona Cardinals Head Coach Bruce Arians with Marshall Faulk

NFL Network analyst Marshall Faulk sat down with Arizona Cardinals head coach Bruce Arians for an interview on NFL GameDay Morning:

On coaching at the University of Alabama under Bear Bryant:

“That was a learning experience every day. I thought I knew everything; I was 26, I thought I knew everything…He would tear me up every week. We had a great relationship in that I would never back off. He’d rip me – I’d go straight to his office [and he’d say], ‘You’re doing fine.’ He just loved ripping me in front of the other coaches. He just wanted to see if I was going to keep coming back. There is a big picture of him that’s been over my shoulder in my office for 34 years. The last thing he said to me when I took the Temple job off his staff: ‘Coach them hard and hug them later.’ That’s just been my mantra ever since.”

On his coaching style:

“To coach them hard, they have to know you care about them. You’re talking about football, not the person. Your football stinks – you’re a hell of a guy, I love you off the field.”

On what he tells his team about the playoffs following two consecutive losses:

“We have to take care of business this week. We had a great week of preparation last week – we showed up at the stadium with no passion and energy. I don’t care who you’re playing in this league, you better have passion and energy or you’re going to get beat. And we got beat soundly.”

On if he is concerned about showing up to the stadium without passion and energy again:

“I don’t think we’re going to have that problem again. You’re as good as your film. That film stinks so bad, if you’re not embarrassed then you shouldn’t be a Cardinal.”

On how he would critique Bruce Arians the head coach:

“Right now, doing OK. The test of time always is what you’re measured by. This next month, we’ll see how damn good a coach you are. Everybody wants to pat you on the back in September and October – they remember what you do in December.”

To view the entire interview with Arians, visit:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000439539/Coach-hard-hug-later

Philadelphia Eagles Wide Receiver Jeremy Maclin with Melissa Stark

NFL Network’s Melissa Stark sat down with Philadelphia Eagles wide receiver Jeremy Maclin for an interview on NFL GameDay First and NFL GameDay Morning:

On if there was any doubt in his mind that he would not return following his injury:

“No. I’ve been challenged so much away from football, away from anything that has to do with sports that when it comes to rehab or treatment or playing football, practice, weightlifting – it’s all easy in my mind. Just don’t take anything for granted.”

On playing for head coach Chip Kelly:

“It’s been awesome. Chip is fun to work with, he’s a great guy to be around. I respect him as a man, as a coach. It’s been fun. You have so many opportunities to go out there and make plays. He does a great job of putting his guys in a position to be successful.”

On Eagles quarterback Mark Sanchez:

“Mark’s a professional. He’s won in this league at a very high level before. He can definitely play some football, so that’s a credit to him. I think one thing Chip [Kelly] said is he likes to have two starting quarterbacks. I think he has that in both [Nick] Foles and Mark.”

To view the entire interview with Maclin, visit:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000439517/Jeremy-s-journey

Pittsburgh Steelers Running Back Le’Veon Bell with Steve Cyphers

NFL Media’s Steve Cyphers sat down with Pittsburgh Steelers running back Le’Veon Bell for an interview on NFL GameDay Morning:

On his workload:

“I like being on the field at all times. You never know what play is going to change the game. People tell me, ‘You play 90 snaps, how do you feel?’ I feel normal.”

To view the entire interview with Bell, visit:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000439568/A-running-backstory

Quotes from NFL GameDay First

Every Sunday morning at 7:00 AM ET, NFL Network is first on the field with NFL GameDay First. Host Melissa Stark, co-host/analyst Sterling Sharpe, and analysts Shaun O’Hara and Michael Robinson provide the first analysis of the day’s games, while NFL Network reporters stationed across the league report from stadiums with the first on-location reports of the day.

“There is not another guy in the draft, there is not a guy in free agency – in my respect, there is not another guy walking this Earth – that can do what Marshawn Lynch does. So, if I’m Pete Carroll, if I’m John Schneider, I’m looking at this guy and I’m saying, ‘Hey, maybe I open up the wallet a little bit…I have to make sure this guy plays next year and if he plays, he plays for me.’” – Michael Robinson on Seattle Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch

“How many guys on the Seahawks defense are going around saying ‘I am the best’ and trying to get attention? [Marshawn Lynch] is saying ‘I don’t want that attention – I want the attention to be on the team.’ The Seahawks need that.” – Shaun O’Hara on Seattle Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch

“I think the speed of the Eagles offense is going to catch the Seahawks a little bit by surprise…I think that can be a little bit of a factor.” – Shaun O’Hara on the Philadelphia Eagles offense versus the Seattle Seahawks defense

“I think this game comes down to stopping the run and forcing the quarterback to win the football game. [Mark Sanchez] has been playing beautifully. Chip Kelly has done a great job knowing and figuring out who Mark Sanchez is, but the game is going to be in his hands.” – Sterling Sharpe on what it would take for the Philadelphia Eagles to get the win over the Seattle Seahawks

“I think it is the right decision. I think that Brian Hoyer gives you the best opportunity to beat the Indianapolis Colts. You don’t want to put Johnny Manziel out there and tell him he has to try to keep up with Andrew Luck…I think to your team, Brian Hoyer has become a leader.” – Shaun O’Hara on why it is the right decision for the Cleveland Browns to start Brian Hoyer over Johnny Manziel

“I have played with rookie quarterbacks. Eli Manning was as prepared as you could be as a rookie quarterback coming into the NFL. Guess what Baltimore did when we played them on the road? Guess what defenses did to us? They blitzed us, they brought the pressure. That is what defenses are going to do to Johnny Manziel. They are going to try to rattle him and try to make him scramble. He is a turnover waiting to happen.” – Shaun O’Hara on why Cleveland Browns quarterback Johnny Manziel is not ready to start

“The strength of this team is the defensive secondary. Don’t be surprised if Brandon Browner is following Antonio Gates around the field. He is a guy who can tackle; he is big, he is long, and he can keep with them in coverage. They are going to have to find a way to get Philip Rivers under pressure to get the ball out.” – Michael Robinson on why the New England Patriots are going to defeat the San Diego Chargers

Quotes from NFL GameDay Morning

NFL GameDay Morning is the most comprehensive pregame show on Sunday morning, airing at 9:00 AM ET for four hours on NFL Network and taking viewers straight up to kickoff. Host Rich Eisen joins analysts Steve Mariucci, Marshall Faulk, Kurt Warner, Warren Sapp and Michael Irvin to bring fans the latest news, injury reports, pregame analysis and game previews. Additionally, NFL Media Insider Ian Rapoport provides the latest inside information from around the league.

“Brian Hoyer is what got you here. Before the last three games, he had 10 touchdowns [and] just four interceptions – he was the reason that they were winning games. He was the most consistent player on this team…He got you here, you’re still in the playoff mix. To me, this was a no-brainer.” – Kurt Warner on the Cleveland Browns

“This guy is finally getting them to a point where they’re respectable. Let the guy play.” – Steve Mariucci on Cleveland Browns quarterback Brian Hoyer

“You have to beat them one of two ways: you have to beat them with deep balls or you have to beat them by being more physical than them. Neither of these come from this Philadelphia Eagles football team…They’ve already seen this finesse game with the Denver Broncos in last year’s Super Bowl and they’ve seen it this year. If you want me to believe that Chip Kelly in the ear of Mark Sanchez is better than the brain that’s in Peyton Manning, I’m sorry, I have issues believing all of that. If they did it to Peyton Manning, they can do it to this offense right here.” – Michael Irvin on the Seattle Seahawks defense

“Right now, he is the best back in the league.” – Marshall Faulk on Pittsburgh Steelers running back Le’Veon Bell

“He’s a very confident guy, he’s a very loyal guy but he’s an honest coach. When you work with him and you listen to him coach, he’s honest with you about what you’re doing, what he does wrong, and I believe that’s what the Arizona Cardinals are responding to and what he believes is going to get them over the hump coming down the stretch.” – Marshall Faulk on Arizona Cardinals head coach Bruce Arians

“If he wins the NFC West, he’s going to be the Coach of the Year again.” – Steve Mariucci on Arizona Cardinals head coach Bruce Arians

“When Philip Rivers is hot, he is one of the best quarterbacks in our league. What he did against the Seattle Seahawks, that game showed me Philip Rivers can handle the load for his team.” – Marshall Faulk on San Diego Chargers quarterback Philip Rivers

“I’m not worried about the workload for DeMarco Murray because I think that’s exactly what you have to give him in order to keep Tony Romo healthy. They connect.” – Michael Irvin on Dallas Cowboys running back DeMarco Murray

NFL Media Insider Ian Rapoport

On how long the leash will be today for Cleveland Browns quarterback Brian Hoyer:

“My understanding talking to Browns sources is that they want to give Brian Hoyer every chance to win this game. As long as the Browns are in the playoff hunt, as they are in the thick of it right now, he will continue to be their starting quarterback. It is not going to be a quick hook if say he goes three-and-out in the first two series. They do not want Brian Hoyer looking over his shoulder at Johnny Manziel. He will be the starting quarterback today and they would like that to continue. Now, if the Browns do go down big today and the game gets out of hand like it did last week, then you will likely see Johnny Manziel. In fact, I am told if the Browns lose today and fall out of the playoff race, don’t be surprised to see Manziel start for the next three games as the Cleveland Browns begin to evaluate their future. As far as what it will actually be like today, do not expect a Manziel package; don’t expect him to be running in and out with specially designed set of plays. It is going to be Brian Hoyer you’ll see on the field today.”

On why Seattle Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch is considering retirement:

“One of the reasons is Marshawn Lynch is dealing with a very painful back. I’m told by a source involved in the situation that Marshawn Lynch has compressed cartilage in his back that does lead to back spasms and can result in some early arthritis which is why we saw him spend halftime on the sideline getting a massage in a recent game. It’s really painful, it’s something he deals with all of the time and it is one reason why Marshawn Lynch is considering not playing next year.”

On Chicago Bears quarterback Jay Cutler:

“I’m told by Bears sources that there is a serious case of buyer’s remorse for Jay Cutler and signing him to that huge contract that is guaranteed through next year. Jay Cutler simply has not played well enough but it’s not just in the passing game. His refusal to check out of bad run plays has absolutely killed this team and there is a serious case of frustration inside the organization just about the way that Jay Cutler played. In fact, I’m told they considered benching him against Tampa Bay when they were shut out; decided against it, mainly because Jimmy Clausen is their backup and he’s not good enough. If they trade Jay Cutler, they save $12.5 million against the cap next year. Certainly something to consider.”

On Chicago Bears defensive coordinator Mel Tucker:

“I’m told by Bears sources [that] barring a significant improvement Mel Tucker, the defensive coordinator, is expected to be replaced at the end of this year. What the Bears will say publicly is that they have not had these discussions; I’m told they have had these discussions and they have already decided a change will be made at defensive coordinator.”

On San Francisco 49ers head coach Jim Harbaugh:

“The Raiders do have interest in Jim Harbaugh as they want to lure a rock star coach for their franchise. I’m told Harbaugh would have interest in Oakland – will have interest in Oakland – once the season ends, mainly because of the proximity and of course the quarterback that he is a big fan of, which would mean the 49ers would have to trade Harbaugh. So I reached out to a high-ranking league source to explain to me how this would work. First off, Harbaugh would have to OK the trade. Then the 49ers would negotiate the terms with another club, they would release Harbaugh from his contract that he is currently under and a new team would then negotiate a new contract with Jim Harbaugh. I am told [the University of Michigan has] reached out to Jim Harbaugh and they left convinced that he wants to be an NFL coach next year, not a college coach.”

On Mike Singletary:

“I’m told by several high-ranking people around the league that [Mike] Singletary is now on the radar of several owners. They really believe that even after a year away, even after the failed 49ers stint, that he will be a head coach in 2015.”

On NFL.com the following video clips from NFL GameDay First & NFL GameDay Morning are available for viewing:

– Week 14 Bold Predictions NFL GameDay Morning provides Bold Predictions for Week 14:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000439551/Bold-Predictions-Hawks-clip-Eagles-wings

– Week 14 Sunday Statements – The NFL GameDay Morning crew provide their Week 14 Sunday Statements:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000439524/Sunday-Statements-Dolphins-Bengals-take-control

– Did the Cleveland Browns Make the Right Choice? NFL GameDay First analyzes the Cleveland Browns quarterback situation and discuss if they made the right decision to start Brian Hoyer:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000439518/Did-the-Browns-make-the-right-choice

– Will Brian Hoyer Have a Short Leash? – NFL Media Insider Ian Rapoport reports on the Cleveland Browns quarterback situation heading into today’s game against the Indianapolis Colts:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000439519/Will-Hoyer-be-on-a-short-leash

– Are the Chicago Bears Regretting Jay Cutler’s Extension? – NFL Media Insider Ian Rapoport has the latest regarding the Chicago Bears:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000439527/Are-the-Bears-regretting-Cutler-s-extension

– San Francisco 49ers Head Coach Jim Harbaugh and Possible Connection to the Oakland Raiders – NFL Media Insider Ian Rapoport provides insight on San Francisco 49ers head coach Jim Harbaugh and a possible connection to the Oakland Raiders:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000439540/Jim-Harbaugh-interested-in-Raiders-trade

– More Pivotal for the Dallas Cowboys: Tony Romo or DeMarco Murray? – Who is more pivotal for the Dallas Cowboys: quarterback Tony Romo or running back DeMarco Murray? NFL GameDay Morning debates:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000439528/More-pivotal-for-Cowboys-Romo-or-Murray

– 2013 Seattle Seahawks vs. 2014 Seattle Seahawks Michael Robinson joins Kim Jones to discuss this year’s edition of the Seattle Seahawks compared to the team which won the Super Bowl last year:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-videos/0ap3000000439557/2013-Seahawks-vs-2014-Seahawks

– Who Will Win the NFC South? – The NFC South will come down to the New Orleans Saints and Atlanta Falcons. NFL GameDay Morning determines which team will win the division:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000439532/Who-will-win-the-NFC-South

Players Only: Teammate with the Most Interesting Personality – The former players of NFL GameDay Morning look back on their careers to discuss teammates with interesting personalities:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-videos/0ap3000000439546/Players-Only-Teammate-with-the-most-interesting-personality

ABOUT NFL NETWORK

Seven days a week, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, fans turn to NFL Network to receive information and insight straight from the field, team headquarters, league offices and everywhere the NFL is making news. Launched in 2003, NFL Network gives fans unprecedented year-round inside access to all NFL events, including the Super Bowl, Playoffs, regular season, preseason, Pro Bowl, Pro Football Hall of Fame induction weekend, NFL Draft, NFL Scouting Combine, Senior Bowl, league meetings, minicamps and training camps.

Currently in more than 72 million homes, NFL Network has carriage agreements with each of the country’s largest television providers including Comcast, DirecTV, DISH Network, Cablevision, Cox, Charter, Time Warner Cable, Verizon FiOS and AT&T U-Verse.

For fans on the go, all NFL Network programming can also be streamed live on the NFL Mobile from Verizon app (NFL.com/mobile), the NFL app delivered on XBOX from Microsoft, and through Watch NFL Network (NFL.com/watch), with participating cable and satellite providers. For more information, log on to NFL.com/nflnetwork.  NFL.com is the exclusive internet home of NFL Network.

 

 – NFL MEDIA –

Comments are closed.