Quotes From Week 7 Editions of NFL Network’s ‘NFL GameDay First’ & ‘NFL GameDay Morning’

Quick Quotes from NFL GameDay First & NFL GameDay Morning

“I don’t really care, to be honest with you. I mean that with no disrespect, obviously. I think the world of Peyton. I am not surprised a bit that he is going to break it.” – Brett Favre on Peyton Manning breaking his all-time passing touchdown record

“Yes…There was an altercation in the locker room between Percy Harvin and Golden Tate.” – Michael Robinson on an altercation in the locker room the day before Super Bowl XLVIII

“Adding Percy Harvin to that offense, it kind of went away from what the identity of this [team] is.” – Michael Robinson on Percy Harvin

“Right now I just think that Andrew Luck is playing like a 10-year veteran. He is really prepared, he is in a great system that fits him and I think that is always key for any player.” – Brett Favre on the best young quarterback in today’s NFL

“He is across the board special…There is not a man I know that would not want to go play with him, and that is what I love.” – Michael Irvin on Indianapolis Colts quarterback Andrew Luck

“When you have opportunities and you come up short three years in a row to win a division, they just kind of write you off. We have been through adversity, but we are just starting to see that maybe we will come out of that on the other side.” – Cowboys tight end Jason Witten

“This defense, all they needed was discipline and they have it.” – Michael Robinson on the Detroit Lions defense

***For complete quotes from ‘NFL GameDay First’ & ‘NFL GameDay Morning,’ see below***

Quotes from NFL GameDay First

Every Sunday morning at 7:00 AM ET, NFL Network is first on the field with NFL GameDay First. Host Melissa Stark, co-host/analyst Sterling Sharpe, and analysts Shaun O’Hara and Michael Robinson provide the first analysis of the day’s games, while NFL Network reporters stationed across the league report from stadiums with the first on-location reports of the day.

“Yes…There was an altercation in the locker room between Percy Harvin and Golden Tate. It saddens me because I was a leader on that team and to know that this information got out, usually Pete Carroll-coached teams this type of thing stays in-house. There was an issue. I physically broke it up; I was there. You would have to ask those guys what they were arguing about.” – Michael Robinson on if there was an altercation between Percy Harvin and Golden Tate the day before Super Bowl XLVIII

“Simply put, Pete Carroll he’s competing. He preaches it every week and I think having Percy Harvin on that team put offensive coordinator Darrell Bevell in kind of a tricky situation. He’s not a pure wide receiver, he’s not a pure running back – he’s a guy that you have to gameplan to get the ball for. Adding Percy Harvin to that offense, it kind of went away from what the identity of this [team] is which is playing great defense, running the football and having explosive plays down the field…I think this is a good move for the Seahawks and a good move for Percy Harvin too.” – Michael Robinson on why the Seattle Seahawks traded Percy Harvin

-“This team isn’t built to run the spread option, to run all [of] these bubble passes and things that Percy Harvin does well. This team is built to run the ball with [Marshawn Lynch] and when you run the ball with Beast Mode, everybody else gets opportunities down field. This is more of a competitive move than it is a personal move.” – Michael Robinson on why the Seattle Seahawks traded wide receiver Percy Harvin to the New York Jets

“Percy Harvin can be different sometimes. He can be but you have to understand the man. He’s a very private person in general anyway. When he first walked into the locker room, I’m not going to say he didn’t fit in, but he kind of was trying to find himself. This was a locker room where he didn’t know many people; guys like Sidney Rice, myself, Marshawn Lynch, Red Bryant. Three or four of those guys aren’t on the team anymore and those were his close guys. And so I think he got uncomfortable, he sort of lost himself some. And he’s a guy that commands a lot of respect because he gives a lot of respect…He doesn’t mess around too much, so you kind of have to tread lightly when you deal with him. But he’s a great player, but you have to understand why he’s that way. He’s a very private person.” – Michael Robinson on Percy Harvin’s character

“When Percy first got to the Seattle Seahawks, the day he walked into the locker room, the first day that I saw him, I sat Percy down and we talked. I told him, ‘Percy, you’re going to be a piece to the puzzle here; you don’t have to be the whole show, you don’t have to be the focal point of an offense.’ You have to understand, this guy has been the focal point of an offense since he was five years old. He has always had pressure on him. So I told him, ‘You’re just going to be a piece you don’t have to be a show.’…Michael Vick will be very influential to Percy Harvin.” – Michael Robinson on former Seattle Seahawk Percy Harvin transitioning to playing for the New York Jets

“I think they (the Seahawks) will be better, but in Percy Harvin’s defense, when he gets on the field with the Jets, I think they will be better too.”– Michael Robinson on how both the Seattle Seahawks and the New York Jets will improve after the Percy Harvin trade

“He has that championship mindset. This team has the talent – they definitely have the talent – but you need a guy in that locker room directing them, telling them what to do…He’s the best running back on the team.” – Michael Robinson on Indianapolis Colts running back Ahmad Bradshaw

“If they can stay healthy, especially on the offensive side of the ball, why not the Indianapolis Colts representing the AFC at Super Bowl XLIX?” – Sterling Sharpe on the Indianapolis Colts

“This defense, all they needed was discipline and they have it.” – Michael Robinson on why the Detroit Lions are strong defensively

Brett Favre with NFL Network’s Steve Mariucci on NFL GameDay Morning

Brett Favre joined NFL GameDay Morning from his house along with NFL Network analyst Steve Mariucci to discuss Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning approaching his all-time passing touchdown record and more.

On Peyton Manning breaking his all-time passing touchdown record:

“I don’t really care, to be honest with you. I mean that with no disrespect, obviously. I think the world of Peyton. I am not surprised a bit that he is going to break it. That is what records are for, I guess: to be broken. As the game progresses and as more and more history builds up over the years, these records will all fall. Some are harder to break than others but they will fall, [whether it is] mine or someone else’s.”

On the record he is most proud of:

“The one I am most proud of is the one that all the others would not be in place if it not for this one: that is consecutive [game] streak. I am proud that I was there we in and week out, mentally and physically, for 326 games, including playoffs.”

On what his career would have been like if he played in a different era:

“It is a little more prolific today, but I don’t want to take anything away from what Peyton [Manning] has done or guys like Drew Brees, who I think if he continues to play we know will be prolific and that he could put up astronomical numbers as well as he has. It is a different era; it is becoming a different era, with the style in which the teams are playing and the style of player.  Peyton is one of the last guys to play the way that he does. But obviously Peyton is very impressive and prolific. I had a pretty good career so I don’t think too much about what if’s.”

On his retirement:

“Playing 20 years, that is really all we ever did…When that day would come that I was no longer playing, I didn’t know what to expect. Will I go crazy? Will I feel like I need to be in meetings? I have talked to guys who have left the game and felt like they needed the structure that they hated so much before…where other guys said they don’t need that. For me, once I finally was retired and the first game of the following year started, I realized that I had made the right decision for me. I didn’t miss it at all.”

On the Percy Harvin trade:

“My first impression was I was shocked. I was with Percy for two years. He caught my first touchdown in Minnesota and he caught my last touchdown in Minnesota. I knew what he was capable of; I think Percy kind of knows what he is capable of. He is so versatile, he is so powerful, and he is so fast. Just an explosive player as we all know; we have all seen him with Minnesota and with Seattle. How do you stop this guy?…I was surprised that trade happened. I have no idea why it happened. Percy was a good guy in the locker room, really quiet. He had a migraine issue. I don’t know where that is. I am really not in a position to make any comments because I don’t know anything other than what my dealings were with Percy and they were great. I thought he was an outstanding player.”

On how Percy Harvin will handle playing in New York:

“I think that Percy for the most part is a quiet guy. I don’t want to say introvert, but he keeps to himself a little bit. He is tough mentally and he is tough physically. They might try to pick him apart there. How he will react to that, I have no idea. Hopefully they will protect him a little bit as he transitions into the rest of this season and he can just play. That is going to be easier said than done. He can be a little bit combative, but I say that in a good way. Percy is about doing whatever he can to help the team win and he is tough as nails and really that is all he cares about. So if you start picking him apart, I don’t want to say he can turn against you but he is tough. I really liked him as a player and as a person.”

On Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers’ response to criticism from Packers fans:

“We all say things differently and react to things differently. He is obviously very confident and he should be. When we played together, I knew he could play. That is why they drafted him. He moved around extremely well, he had a tremendous arm, and a lot of confidence. No different than me; I had a lot of confidence too. I thought I could do it myself. I think as a young player, we all think that. But he has the ability to do it himself. He really does.”

On the best young quarterback in the NFL:

“I hate to pick one, but right now I just think that Andrew Luck is playing like a 10-year veteran. He is really prepared, he is in a great system that fits him and I think that is always key for any player.”

On the Dallas Cowboys’ chances of winning a Super Bowl:

“I am not an expert, but if you beat the Super Bowl champions at their place, you’re 5-1, and aside from the first half of the first game of the year you’ve played exceptionally, why shouldn’t they be? Who knows who will be there in the end, but I think you have to put them right there at the top.”

Provided below are video links from the interview with Favre:

– Favre on Peyton Manning breaking his all-time passing touchdown record:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412868/Favre-on-Peyton-Records-are-meant-to-be-broken

– Favre on former teammate Percy Harvin:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412875/Favre-on-Harvin-He-s-all-about-winning

– Favre on retirement:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412869/Favre-on-retirement-I-d-rather-be-cooking-pancakes

Dallas Cowboys TE Jason Witten with NFL Network’s Michael Irvin

Hall of Fame wide receiver and NFL Network analyst Michael Irvin spoke with Dallas Cowboys tight end Jason Witten for an interview on NFL GameDay Morning:

On the biggest difference between the Cowboys this season than in previous years:

“I’d say the mentality of the group. Our offensive line is the hardest working group on our football team. You are talking about brotherhood. These guys lift together, they run together, they eat together and they are the right guys. They are tough, they’re smart, they’re nasty. When you take on the identity that says that you are going to run the football, there is a mentality that comes with that and it doesn’t just happen because you have three guys in the first round up front. It takes everyone.”

On the Cowboys:

“When you have opportunities and you come up short three years in a row to win a division, they just kind of write you off. We have been through adversity, but we are just starting to see that maybe we will come out of that on the other side.”

On Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo:

“I think you are seeing a guy who really knows who he is. Coming off the back surgery, he spent most of his offseason rehabbing and just watching tape and understanding and mentally preparing for how he was going to come back. The guy has [an] unbelievable will and you’re seeing him make plays even after the injury that he has gone through come back and be a better football player and that is not easy to do.”

To view the entire interview with Witten, visit:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412898/Witten-Our-mentality-is-the-difference-this-season

Quotes from NFL GameDay Morning

NFL GameDay Morning is the most comprehensive pregame show on Sunday morning, airing at 9:00 AM ET for four hours on NFL Network and taking viewers straight up to kickoff. Host Rich Eisen joins analysts Steve Mariucci, Marshall Faulk, Kurt Warner, Warren Sapp and Michael Irvin to bring fans the latest news, injury reports, pregame analysis and game previews. Additionally, NFL Media Insider Ian Rapoport provides the latest inside information from around the league. This week, Terrell Davis joined NFL GameDay Morning in-studio.

“I don’t care how great of a talent you have on the football field, if you don’t have a locker room that is together and on one accord, that is the only way you can win championships. If you’ve got a problem, you’ve got to move it. Kudos to those guys for saying, ‘We can’t have this, we have to be on one accord.’” – Michael Irvin on the Percy Harvin trade

“Percy is a very private guy. He is a no-nonsense guy. He is a guy that you actually like on your team. He doesn’t play around much. He can be difficult at times to get along with, but I have never had a problem with Percy. As soon as he walked in the locker room, he fit in a little bit. But I think he started to see that he wasn’t going to be the main show on this offense and that is why the Seahawks let him go. I don’t know about the character issues about this particular season; when I was there, he was fine. He got along with a lot of people.” – Michael Robinson on Percy Harvin

“Cameras were all over the place. I don’t think anyone saw Golden [Tate] with an actual black eye. I got a chance to talk to the guys after the altercation and kind of smoothed it out. This happens in locker rooms all the time…The concerning part is that this actually got out. When you have highly competitive guys in a locker room, they all want the ball and they all want to affect the team in a positive way. Again, when we talk about a guy like Percy Harvin, he has been the focal point of an offense for his entire life since he was five years old. Coming to a team where you are not the focal point, it can get frustrating sometimes.” Michael Robinson on the Percy Harvin-Golden Tate altercation the day before Super Bowl XLVIII

“Being a quarterback that has played with a lot of big time playmakers, I am never a guy who is going to say that a quarterback is better off without a big time playmaker. But I think in this situation, Russell Wilson might be better off. When you have a game plan for a guy like Percy Harvin, you take opportunities away from Russell Wilson to do what he does because you have to create for Percy Harvin.” Kurt Warner on the Percy Harvin trade

– “No smoke and mirrors, they are the best offense in the NFL.” – Marshall Faulk on the success of the Indianapolis Colts’ offense

– “He is across the board special…There is not a man I know that would not want to go play with him, and that is what I love. You want to go play with that guy right there because he is all football. He is the best young quarterback right now.” Michael Irvin on Indianapolis Colts quarterback Andrew Luck

“You never watch a receiver come off the field with that look ‘I was open.’ They respect and they know that he is putting the work in to get the job done… If he does not play at the level that he does, the Colts will not win.” Marshall Faulk on Indianapolis Colts quarterback Andrew Luck

“The one thing about DeMarco Murray that he is doing now that I love…is that he is allowing the blocks to happen in front of him and then once he gets to the next level, he is breaking all of the arm tackles that used to get him down.” – Marshall Faulk on Dallas Cowboys running back DeMarco Murray

“I think that if you are able [to], you can stay healthy and if the production is there, I would say keep running DeMarco Murray. I don’t see why you want to pull him back.” – Terrell Davis on Dallas Cowboys running back DeMarco Murray

“We don’t talk about [the Chargers]. We don’t talk about what Philip Rivers is doing right now with this team with this group of guys. They picked apart the Seattle Seahawks like we hadn’t seen anybody do. Now Dallas went up to Seattle and beat them down. But it is that first loss that pulled the little block out and made all of the other blocks fall apart.” – Marshall Faulk on why the San Diego Chargers are a better team than the Dallas Cowboys

“I don’t know about Cam [Newton] having enough talent around him, but Cam has enough talent in him right now. That’s what Superman is. He can beat you passing the ball and he’s back now to being able to beat you running the ball with the 100 yards last week.” – Michael Irvin on Carolina Panthers quarterback Cam Newton

NFL Media Insider Ian Rapoport

On the Seattle Seahawks trade of wide receiver Percy Harvin:

“This is something that the Seattle Seahawks were open to for the last several weeks, calling around, calling to a lot of general managers and other team personnel people to see who was interested in Percy Harvin. Among the teams that Seattle contacted: the Cleveland Browns, the Indianapolis Colts, the Broncos, the Bucs and of course the New York Jets who ended up dealing for Percy Harvin. It’s no secret Seattle has been in the market for a tight end because of injuries for the last several weeks. One of the names they discussed with the Cleveland Browns: Jordan Cameron. That trade did not materialize. I’m also told that Seattle was very upfront with the New York Jets about all of Percy Harvin’s issues, wanted to lay everything on the table just so there were no secrets. The Jets absolutely understood what they were getting and of course this is a huge move, the biggest move for Jets general manager John Idzik. It certainly puts him in the spotlight but as a Jets source told me, anything to help us get better that’s something we’ll look into.”

On Percy Harvin:

“As we know now, Percy Harvin had at least two major altercations with teammates, including one with Golden Tate. The final straw was when Percy Harvin refused to go back into the game against the Dallas Cowboys. It was always a fear of Seattle offensive coordinator Darrell Bevell that he didn’t get Percy Harvin involved immediately, or if Harvin wasn’t having success as he wasn’t against Orlando Scandrick who was shutting him down, they were nervous that he would simply shut down and that seems to be what happened here. Now you will see the Seattle Seahawks get back to their identity of their offense and no more forcing it to Percy Harvin.”

On the Seahawks following the trade of Percy Harvin:

“We know that Pete Carroll fosters an ultra-competitive environment in the locker room. For Percy Harvin, it was simply too much. The Seahawks often had to placate Percy Harvin and make sure that he was involved and almost force-feed him the ball instead of doing what they do best. Now they open the door to two young receivers they absolutely love: Paul Richardson, who is like a mini Percy Harvin, and Kevin Norwood, one of their draft picks this year. They can be a little more normal now on offense without Percy Harvin.”

On NFL.com the following video clips from NFL GameDay First & NFL GameDay Morning are available for viewing:

– Week 7 Bold Predictions NFL GameDay Morning provides Bold Predictions for Week 7:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412838/Bold-Predictions-Lynch-goes-off

– Week 7 Sunday Statements – The NFL GameDay Morning crew provide their Sunday Statements for Week 7:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412783/Sunday-Statements-Seahawks-will-shine-without-Harvin

– Michael Robinson on Percy Harvin Trade – Former Seattle Seahawks fullback Michael Robinson provides his thoughts on the trade of Percy Harvin:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412775/Robinson-Harvin-trade-lets-Seahawks-go-back-to-Beastmode

– America’s (Best) Team? – The NFL GameDay Morning crew discusses if the Dallas Cowboys are the best team in the NFL:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412845/Americas-Best-Team

– More Impressive: Cowboys Offense or Defense? Shaun O’Hara takes to social media to see which unit has been more impressive for the Dallas Cowboys, the offense or defense:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412777/More-Surprising-Cowboys-offense-or-defense

– Restless in Seattle NFL GameDay Morning examines the Seattle Seahawks following the trade of wide receiver Percy Harvin:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412834/Restless-in-Seattle

– Where Do the Patriots Rank in the AFC? – Winners of three consecutive games, where do the New England Patriots rank in the AFC?:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412830/Where-do-the-Patriots-rank-in-the-AFC

– Warner’s Corner Kurt Warner examines the performance of Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412842/Warner-s-Corner-Breaking-down-Aaron-Rodgers

– Sapp’s Dapp: Lions Defensive Line Warren Sapp breaks down the Detroit Lions’ defensive line:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412847/Sapp-s-Dapp-Lions-defensive-line

Players Only NFL GameDay Morning’s former players discuss if players should argue with their quarterback:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412837/Players-Only-Should-players-argue-with-the-quarterback

– The Cincinnati Odd Couple – NFL Media’s Michael Silver gets inside access with Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Andy Dalton and offensive coordinator Hue Jackson:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412835/The-Cincinnati-odd-couple

– Favorite Favre Memories Steve Mariucci joins NFL GameDay First to discuss his favorite memories of coaching Brett Favre:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412780/Favorite-Brett-Favre-memories

– Trade Deadline Names to Watch – NFL Media Insider Ian Rapoport provides the latest regarding the upcoming trade deadline:

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-network-gameday/0ap3000000412909/Trade-deadline-names-to-watch

ABOUT NFL NETWORK

Seven days a week, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, fans turn to NFL Network to receive information and insight straight from the field, team headquarters, league offices and everywhere the NFL is making news. Launched in 2003, NFL Network gives fans unprecedented year-round inside access to all NFL events, including the Super Bowl, Playoffs, regular season, preseason, Pro Bowl, Pro Football Hall of Fame induction weekend, NFL Draft, NFL Scouting Combine, Senior Bowl, league meetings, minicamps and training camps.

Currently in more than 72 million homes, NFL Network has carriage agreements with each of the country’s largest television providers including Comcast, DirecTV, DISH Network, Cablevision, Cox, Charter, Time Warner Cable, Verizon FiOS and AT&T U-Verse.

For fans on the go, all NFL Network programming can also be streamed live on the NFL Mobile from Verizon app (NFL.com/mobile), the NFL app delivered on XBOX from Microsoft, and through Watch NFL Network (NFL.com/watch), with participating cable and satellite providers. For more information, log on to NFL.com/nflnetwork.  NFL.com is the exclusive internet home of NFL Network.

 

 – NFL MEDIA –

Comments are closed.