Peyton Manning and Le Sean Mc Coy Named 2013 FedEx Air & Ground NFL Players of the Year at “3rd Annual NFL Honors”

Denver and Philadelphia Junior Achievement Offices to Each Receive $25,000 Grants from FedEx in Honor of Winning Players

Denver Broncos quarterback PEYTON MANNING and Philadelphia Eagles running back LE SEAN MC COY won FEDEX AIR & GROUND NFL PLAYERS OF THE YEAR, FedEx and the National Football League announced tonight during “3rd Annual NFL Honors” awards show – a two-hour primetime special that airs nationally on February 1 on FOX at 8 p.m. ET the night before Super Bowl XLVIII.

FedEx Air & Ground NFL Player of the Year awards are a culmination of weekly awards presented by FedEx throughout the NFL season that give football fans the ability to honor stand-out quarterback and running back performances each week while earning charitable donations for the winning players’ cities.

  • Denver Broncos QB Peyton Manning, one of the winningest quarterbacks in league history, led the Broncos (13-3) to the No. 1 seed in the AFC. He set the NFL’s single-season passing-yard record with 5,477 yards, surpassing Drew Brees’ mark of 5,476 yards in 2011, and finished the regular season with 55 touchdown passes, also the most in a season in NFL history. Manning is the first quarterback since Dan Marino in 1984 to set the record in both passing touchdowns and passing yards in the same season. Manning (64,964) surpassed Marino (61,361) for the second-most career passing yards in NFL history. With 491 touchdown passes and 5,532 completions, Manning now trails only Brett Favre (508 TDs; 6,300 completions; 71,838 yards) in the three major career passing categories. Manning (115.1) was one of seven NFL quarterbacks to have a passer rating of 100.0 or better in 2013. Manning, who was selected to the 2014 Pro Bowl, was nominated for FedEx Air Player of the Week nine times, winning four.
  • LeSean McCoy of the Philadelphia Eagles won the league’s rushing title with 1,607 yards, and is the first Eagle to lead the league in rushing since Pro Football Hall of Famer Steve Van Buren in 1949. McCoy also led NFL with 2,146 scrimmage yards, 79 rushing first downs and was second in the league with 102 overall first downs. McCoy rushed for 150+ yards in a franchise-high four games in 2013, while no other rusher in the NFL has done so more than once this season. He also holds an NFL record with seven-career fourth-quarter touchdown runs of 40-plus yards. Voted to his second Pro Bowl this season, McCoy was nominated for FedEx Ground Player of the Week four times, winning once.

Manning and McCoy were selected from a panel of three finalists in their respective Air and Ground categories. The other FedEx Air NFL Players of the Year finalists were quarterbacks Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints and Philip Rivers of the San Diego Chargers, while the FedEx Ground NFL Players of the Year finalists included running backs Jamaal Charles of the Kansas City Chiefs and Matt Forté of the Chicago Bears.

For the complete release, click here

Comments are closed.