NFL Alumni Player of Year Awards to Air on NFL Network Monday After Super Bowl XLVI

Host Alec Baldwin & 12 Pro Football Hall of Famers including Dan Fouts, Andre Tippett, Kellen Winslow & Marv Levy Featured 

Televised For the First Time, Show Debuts Monday, February 6 at 10 PM ET

Allstate Insurance Company as Presenting Sponsor 

NEWARK, NJ (January 12, 2012) –The NFL Alumni Foundation (NFLA) today announced the 2012 NFLA Player of the Year Awards Presented by Allstate Insurance Company will be televised for the first time on NFL Network in primetime on Monday, February 6, 2012 at 10:00 PM ET.  This year marks the 30th anniversary of the NFLA Player of the Year Awards Program which was created so that retired NFL players could recognize and vote for the outstanding achievements of their present-day counterparts.

Oscar nominee and Emmy-award winner Alec Baldwin will serve as host for the awards ceremony which will take place during Super Bowl Weekend in a ceremony on Friday, February 3 at the Scottish Rite Cathedral in Indianapolis before debuting on NFL Network the Monday following the Super Bowl. Celebrities including Vivica A. Fox, Stephen Baldwin, Patrick Warburton and Keith David will join country music breakout band Badhorse, who will perform live, to honor the top seven players from the 2011 season. 

The program features dozens of former NFL players and coaches including 12 Pro Football Hall of Famers. Among those taking part in the festivities:

  • Hall of Fame San Diego QB and CBS NFL analyst Dan Fouts
  • Hall of Fame San Diego TE Kellen Winslow
  • Hall of Fame New England LB and Patriots executive Andre Tippett
  • Hall of Fame Buffalo Bills coach Marv Levy
  • Hall of Fame Green Bay RB Jim Taylor

“As former players, celebrating the accomplishments of the current athletes is extremely rewarding,” said George Martin, Executive Director & President, NFLA.  “Partnering with NFL Network to televise the event will provide even greater exposure for our players and organization. The funds raised from this awards dinner, along with other events throughout the year, allow the NFL Alumni to advocate for greater quality of life benefits to retired players including medical, pension, disability and post-NFL career development as well as advancing its mission of caring for kids in local communities.”

Previous winners of the NFL Alumni Player of the Year Awards include Jason Witten, Drew Brees, Emmitt Smith, Boomer Esiason and Jim Kelly.  ENVY Digital Entertainment, an official NFLA partner, will produce the event.  16W Marketing, a consultant to the NFLA, coordinated the partnership between NFLA, Envy Digital and NFL Network.

“We are proud to partner with the NFL Alumni on this project.  This opportunity enables the NFLA and ENVY to deliver a first class nationally broadcast event,” said J.D. Albano, EDE’s Head of Business Development.


The NFL Alumni is a non-profit organization comprised of former NFL players and associate members with a mission of retired player advocacy and youth-oriented charity fundraising. The advocating efforts focus on issues such as medical, financial, continuing education, and career transition needs. The charity efforts focus on raising funds for various national youth-related causes.  The NFL Alumni advances its mission from its national headquarters in Newark, New Jersey and an additional 28 chapters located across the country.


ENVY Digital Entertainment (EDE) is a leader in traditional & digital entertainment. EDE distributes and produces both long and short-form video programming targeted at male 18-49 audiences, with simultaneous distribution over broadcast, cable, broadband, and wireless platforms. EDE supplies marketers and viewers an enhanced video experience across all platforms.             

# # #

Comments are closed.